Moving on from soccer to one of the most random things I have ever done. Two weeks ago, on Friday, September 9th, 3 of us teachers decided to run a half-marathon. Originally the main reason we were running was because one of the students (Asantewa) wanted Christy to run with her, and me and John decided to join in on the fun. Well, it turned out that we would not be running with Asantewa because everyone under 15 had to run in a different category of the race. We decided to still run, and trained during the week and half we had to prepare for the half marathon. We ran 3 times for over an hour and came into Wednesday hoping to run a half marathon in around 2 hours.
This marathon was one of the funniest things I have ever been a part of. I think it might be one of those things that is really only funny if you are there, but I will still try to help you understand how funny it was to all 3 of us that ran. On Tuesday the 13th we all went with Asantewa's mom (she is the K4 teacher at AIS) to sign up for the race. We parked on the side of a big highway which is under construction and walked over to this parking lot near a hotel. We asked the guard and he said that we could sign up at this plastic table that was out in front of the hotel. There was no one at the table, but as we walked up to it a few people standing over by this van on the side of the road came walking over. There were no signs saying this is where to sign up, and the people who were working the sign in table weren't even where we were supposed to be. This should have given us some insight of what was to come, but we were still oblivious to the madness ahead.
Tuesday before the race was a busy day which left no preparation time for the next day. School, then faculty meeting, then Kid's Club, then men's Bible study, and then bed! Wednesday morning I got up at 3:10 and made myself an egg sandwich in preparation for the upcoming marathon. At around 4 o'clock John and Daesha and I walked to the school to be picked up by William. We arrived at the starting line at 5 am and there was no one around! We were wondering what was going on! So we took some pictures of us at the starting line.
After a few minutes of asking questions we were able to figure out that we needed to go back about a quarter mile to where everyone gets their jerseys. By the time we got there, lines of Ghanaians were everywhere. Luckily our friend Daniel, who plays guitar at church and comes to soccer practice sometimes, saw us and invited us over to stand in line with him. After waiting for half an hour they finally started handing out the jerseys while people fought for a spot in line. During that half hour several times a man came over a loud speaker saying that people needed to "remain calm" once they received their jersey. Apparently there is a usually a mad rush to run to the starting line when the first people get their jerseys. This should have been another hint that this was not your well run, organized American marathon. This was a Ghanaian run marathon! After receiving our jerseys and putting them on we took some pictures and I got interviewed by a Ghanaian TV station!
| Me, John, Christy, and William (one of the school's drivers who drove around trying to follow us with Daesha in the passenger seat taking pictures and video) |
| Being interviewed! I was asked by 3 or 4 other stations to give them an interview! But one was enough haha....also check out that farmer's tan!! |
We tried to keep the same pace throughout the whole race, so most of the people started out ahead of us, and we passed a lot of people as we went along. I don't think the majority of the people racing had trained at all. I ran for 2 hours and 12 minutes and then walked until John and Christy caught up to me. From my calculations I assumed that I had run a half marathon as there was only one marker that I saw (25 km left). After walking for almost an hour William found us and picked us up. We only had about 8 or 9 more miles left and thought about completing the whole marathon, but decided against it. All 3 of us were very sore and tired after running for over 2 hours and completing half the marathon plus!
10 Interesting Facts/Happenings from the Milo Marathon:
1. It rained for the from the time we got our jerseys to about an hour and half into the race! Even if we were soaked, it helped keep us cool! PTL!
2. Mud puddles were everywhere! The roads were paved for the most part, but Ghanaian roads are not known for being too smooth, so it was fun trying to stay out of the mud. Trying to stay out of the mud and puddles was impossible at some points and so all 3 of us were muddy and soaked by the end.
3. Apparently traffic is not very important to get out of the way of the runners. Actually it is probably not possible for them to stop traffic in Accra because it would create mass chaos, but it did add an extra element to running. We had to try to avoid being hit by the cars that were driving past and also sitting in traffic right in the way of where we were supposed to run.
4. The Milo Marathon is not really an international marathon! We only saw 2 other obruni's the whole time we were at the race, and I think that is why so many TV stations asked me for an interview! I think Christy was the only white girl in the race!
5. There is no need to warn people that the race is about to start! Just shoot the gun!!
6. Shoes are optional when running the Milo Marathon! We saw so many people who had either taken their shoes off or lost them and were running in bare feet. Also, flip flops and socks are a perfect combination for running a marathon. I saw at least 10 Ghanaian's wearing flip flops and socks and trying to run! It was so funny!!
7. Everyone running in the green uniforms creates a great view from the back of the pack. I don't know if you can really tell from this picture, but there is a huge mob of green heading up the hill in the distance. It was really cool to watch while we were running.
8. Going to the bathroom just off the road is not strange during a marathon (or at all in Ghana, I can't tell you how many men I have seen peeing into the gutter on the side of the road, and apparently women do too, but thankfully I have not experience that yet). Since it is ok to go on the side of the road, me and John took advantage and stopped about an hour into the race haha.
9. Although getting on the back of tro-tro's while they are driving by is not viewed very highly by other Ghanaian's who are racing, some people still do it! I saw around 10 people riding on the back of a tro-tro wearing their green jersey. Daesha even got a picture of one of them!
10. Even if it is not the most organized marathon in the world, it still can create great memories for the obruni's involved!
The past two weeks have been busy with school and the above mentioned things, and I am excited about the opportunities I am starting to have with talking to students. One interesting comment a little 1st grader made to me on Thursday was this: "Mr. Jones, when I was at home a red ant bit me on the wee-wee!" What can you say to him after that?! haha
Continue to pray for the students and the opportunities the other teachers and I have to be a witness to them. I am learning more and more how I can relate to these students who have been through so many things that I can't imagine. I will tell you about some more opportunities I have with students in the next blog!